Korean Grade 6 Elementary School Writing/Speaking contest

June Kang Review: Nonsan Contest Preparation.

 

Lesson 1: Where are you from?

Where are you from? I’m from {Canada/ The U.S.A/Korea/China/Japan/England/Vietnam}

Expressions: Where’s your classroom? It’s on the ____ floor. [first, second, third, fourth, fifth]

Words: clothes, cool, country, different, dirty, elementary, floor, machine, never, parent, part, team.

 

Lesson 2: Is this York street?

Is this _____street? It’s behind the _______ {post office, hospital, bank, school, library, restaurant, bus stop, bookstore}

Expressions:

1) Excuse me, where is the_____/ Is this the _____?  

2).Go straight and turn right at the corner/Go straight and turn left at the corner

3).Turn right at the corner/Turn left at the corner/

It’s between the ____ and the _____/

It’s behind the ____

It’s in front of the ____.

4). Sure/Sorry, I don’t know.

5).Go straight [one block, two blocks, three blocks]. It’s on your right, it’s on your left.

Words: Ask, behind, between, bookstore, build, corner, dry, everyday, front, hard , main, near, post office, sir, smell, sock, space, street.

 

Lesson 3: Do you like spring?

I like summer. How’s it going? Not bad.

Expressions:

1).How’s it going? / How about you?

2). I don’t like____/Do you like ______?{fall, winter, summer, spring}/

3).It’s ____{hot, cool, cold, warm, windy, rainy, snowy.}

4).I go swimming in the summer/ Flowers are everywhere/Leaves are beautiful/I can make a snowman/ We have a long winter vacation]

Spring: It’s nice and warm. It’s too windy. 

Summer: It’s too hot. We have a long vacation. We can go swimming

Fall/Autumn: It’s cool. We have Chuseok in the fall.

Winter: It snows. It’s cold. We have Christmas. I can make a snowman. We have a long winter vacation.

Words: Answer, fall, season, spring, vacation, warm, wind.

 

Lesson 4: When is your birthday?

It’s on Chuseok/ It’s in March. I don’t think so.

Expressions:

1). When’s your birthday? My birthday is in ____/ When is yours___? It’s in ____.

2). Months: January, February, March, April, May, June, July, August, September, October, November, December.

3). Ordinal numbers: First, Second, Third, Fourth, Fifth, Sixth, Seventh, Eighth, Ninth, Tenth, eleventh, twelfth.

2) When is your birthday, Nami? It’s September 10th. When is yours? Pardon?

3). When is your ____ (violin concert, soccer ball, piano concert, baseball game)

4). My birthday is in ____. When is your birthday? It’s April _____. Excuse me? I got a __ (bike, new desk, computer).

New words: Another, away, date, interesting, life, lucky, march, month, only, present, same, think, when write.

 

Lesson 5: May I help you?

Expressions: It’s too expensive! How about that yellow one?  I’ll take it. Here’s your change.

May I help you? Yes, please. How much is this _____? It’s ____dollars. Ok, I’ll take it.

Can I help you? Here you are. Here’s your change. What’s that? It’s a /an________.

Look at this!  This is for you.

New words: Band, change, expensive, sudden, toy, cheap.

 

Lesson 6: Can I have some water?

Expressions: it’s twelve o’clock. Let’s have lunch/it’s time for lunch. Me, too.  Sure, here you are. Thankyou. Yes, please/ No, thanks. I have no idea. Try this. It’s delicious.

Can I have a hamburger?. I’m hungry. I’m thirsty.

How kind of you! Can I have a bottle of water. Can I have some rice. Can I have an apple. May I have a some strawberries? May I have some more water?

New words: Bread, daughter, drop, dry, fry, point, tear, thirsty, wool.

 

Lesson 7: My father is a pilot.

Expressions:

Does your mother/father work? Yes, she does. She is a ______

I want to be a ___ {teacher, police officer, singer, dancer}. Who is this? This is my father. Who is that? That is my mother. Is this your father? Yes, it is. Does your sister work? Yes, she does/he does.

My father is a soldier. He is a good cook. My mother is a pianist. She is very nice. My brother is a cook. He is a good singer, too. Do you want to be a pianist? Not really. I want to be a doctor.  Wow that’s great.

New words: Because, check, dentist, drive, firefighter, food, give, heal, mark, often, pilot,

 

Lesson 8: What will you do this summer?

Expressions:

What will you do? I will visit my uncle, I will read books. I will play soccer.

What will you do? I will ______. Really? That’s great. Is that all? How about you?

New words: angry, grandmother, grandparents, hope, Mount, trip.

Lesson 9: How was your vacation?

Expressions:

How was your vacation? It was great. I visited my grandparents. I played the piano.

How was your vacation? It was great/good. It was not fun. I visited________. How was your vacation/holiday/weekend? What did you do there? I went to a museum with my cousins. I went camping but it rained all day.

New words: again, bark, goldfish, into, learn, meow, talk, strange.

 

Lesson 10: I’m stronger than you.

Expressions:

I’m taller than you.  What a surprise.

I’m longer/shorter/stronger/weaker/faster/slower/bigger/smaller/taller/shorter/heavier/lighter/

I am ________-er than you. He is taller than nami. She is prettier than jinho.

Nami is older than Jinho. Jinho is younger than Nami.

Nami is more beautiful than Jin-a.. Jina is less beautiful than Nami. More interesting. Less interesting. My ruler is longer than yours. Your ruler is shorter than mine.

New words: New, young.

 

Lesson 11: What do you want to do?

Expressions:

 What do you want to do? I want to sing/dance/play the piano/cook/swim/take a shower/do a musical/have a party. I don’t want to sing. How about you? What do you want to do for mom? I want to make a card. How about you? I want to cook for mom.

Sounds good. What do they want to do? What does she/he want to do? They want to play soccer. She wants to sing. He wants to dance.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About TommyBoiZee

Our Deepest Fear is that We Are Powerful Beyond Measure Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness, that most frightens us. We ask ourselves, who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented and fabulous? Actually, who are you not to be? You are a child of God. Your playing small doesn't serve the world. We were born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us. It's not just in some of us; it's in everyone. And as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same. As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others. Marianne Williamson I am a boy seeking words of wisdom from those around me, seeking courage to defy me, seeking inspirations to enlighten me, seeking truth to set me free.... most importantly, I wanna be happy..
This entry was posted in Randomness. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

